Skip to main content
Skip to main menu


Research Day 2009 - Home

Workshop Description

The UGA Computer Science Department has an active and growing program of research, with roughly 120 graduate students, and faculty experts in areas including:

  • Algorithms
  • Distributed information systems
  • Scientific computing
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Evolutionary computing
  • Simulation
  • Bioimaging
  • Human-computer interaction
  • Theory
  • Bioinformatics
  • Parallel & distributed computing
  • Virtual reality
  • Databases
  • Real-time systems
  • Vision & image Processing

Computer Science Research Day is designed to showcase the accomplishments and abilities of our thriving graduate program and takes the form of a poster competition among the graduate students. We invite the university community, potential graduate students, alumni, and current and potential industrial affiliates to:

  • Meet our graduate students and view their research posters
  • Cast votes for Best Poster
  • Enjoy some refreshments
  • Identify potential assistants for your research or other funded work
  • Cast votes for a new Computer Science Department Logo
  • Meet our faculty members; find collaborators

Poster Competition Winners

  • 1st place: Tomasz Oliwa, "Music Composition with Artificial Intelligence"
  • 2nd place: B. J. Wimpey, "Location Recognition Using Multilayered Fingerprints"
  • 3rd place (tie):
  • Anousha Mesbah, "Simultaneous Localization and Mapping in Robotics"
  • John Harney, "Adapting Hierarchical Web Service Compositions Using the Value of Changed Information"

Logo Competition Winner

  • Amir Asiaee

You can find photos of the event here.

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.